About Us

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) region urgently needs to maximise food production, while simultaneously safeguarding the environment through sustainable agricultural practices. The region’s policy makers also need urgent support to strengthen the capacity of scientists, government regulators in biosafety and biotechnology.

Our programmes therefore aim to simultaneously strengthen their capacity and also to combat the lack of knowledge among farmers, businesses and the public on how to absorb and use new biotechnological solutions. These stakeholders need to learn how they can increase agricultural productivity, and lower vulnerability of their agricultural crops to plant diseases and pests using safe genetically modified products.

We work closely with agricultural value chain stakeholders, including agri-scientists, regulators and policy makers to assist them in biosafety assessment and risk governance, so as to facilitate informed decision making, and work towards greater co-operation in regulation and policy making with regard to GMO crops. We strive to promote sustainable agricultural practices and enhance food security across the region.

Our project centres are in South Africa, Namibia and Zimbabwe. We are assisted by a team of agri-scientists from the Technical University of Denmark based in Lyngby. However, any scientists, government officials and policymakers, farmers, or members of the general public in the SADC states (listed below) who wish to learn more about what we do, or get involved, are encouraged to contact us.

 SADC 14 Member Countries (current):

Angola, Botswana, Congo (DR), Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

 The GMASSURE Programme will run from January 2014 to December 2016. Read more here: http://www.acp-st.eu/content/gmassure-assuring-agricultural-and-food-safety-genetically-modified-organisms-gmos-southern-